Texas divorce - Residency Requirements.
To file for divorce in Texas, either spouse must have been a resident of Texas for 6 months and a resident of the county for 90 days before filing. In addition, there is a 60-day waiting period after filing before a divorce will be granted. [Texas Co ... More details
Texas divorce - Rights to Maiden Name.
Either spouse may restore his/her former name upon request. [Texas Codes Annotated; Family Code, Chapters 45.105 and 45.106]. ... More details
Texas divorce - Spouse’s name.
Upon request, the name of either spouse may be changed. [Texas Codes Annotated; Family Code, Chapters 45.105 and 45.106]. ... More details
Texas divorce - The first step in the divorce process.
Once you've decided that divorce is the best thing for you, you will file the divorce petition. This contains certain factual information about the parties, as well as grounds for the divorce. Because Texas is a no-fault state, the reason for the div ... More details
Texas divorce - Title of Divorce action.
Petition for Divorce. ... More details
Texas divorce - Where to file for divorce.
In the county of the petitioner. ... More details
Texas waiting period between when a divorce is filed and when it is final.
In Texas, you must wait 60 days from the time you file until your divorce is final, even if the divorce is uncontested. ... More details
The common grounds for fault divorce.
A fault divorce is only granted if one of the spouses is legally at fault--hence the term "fault" divorce. Today about two-thirds of states still offer some form of fault divorce when marital misconduct has been established.
In ... More details
The common grounds for no-fault divorce.
Separation, irreconciliable differences, irretrievable breakdown.
If you file for divorce on no-fault grounds you are in essence saying that you should no longer be married because: ... More details
The difference between no-fault divorce and uncontested divorce.
An uncontested divorce is a matter of agreement between spouses, whereas no-fault divorce pertains to the grounds for the divorce.
An uncontested divorce is one in which both spouses agree on the grounds for the divorce, the economic set ... More details
The divorce proceedings.
In family law, divorce (sometimes called "dissolution") is the legal process by which a valid marriage is ended and the judge distributes the marital (and sometimes the non-marital) property owned by the parties, orders spousal support if a ... More details
The pretrial hearing.
In many states the judge may hold an informal hearing before the trial, called a pretrial conference. The pretrial conference allows the judge to assess the issues and witnesses presented by both parties and estimate the length of the trial. The judg ... More details
The trial generally takes the following course:
The trial begins with the attorney for each side presenting opening statements that briefly summarize his or her client's version of the case. ... More details
Two basic types of divorce.
1. "Fault" divorce, which means divorce for a particular reason, referred to as the "grounds" for the divorce.
2. "No-fault" divorce. ... More details
U.S. Adults Postponing Marriage, Census Bureau Reports, 2000.
The Commerce Department's Census Bureau said today that between 1970 and
2000 the median age at first marriage for women increased by 4.3 years to
25.1 years; for men, the increase was 3.6 years to 26.8 years.
- In the 30 years from 19 ... More details
Uncontested divorce occurs.
An uncontested divorce occurs when:
1) there are no disagreements between you and your spouse over any financial or divorce-related issues (i.e., child custody and support, division of marital property or spousal support); ... More details
Update Important Documents After a Divorce - 1.
Couples who get divorced face many important issues: how to divide property, how much spousal support to give, and if children are involved, who will get custody of the children and what visitation rights the other spouse will have. Attention paid to ... More details
Update Important Documents After a Divorce - 2.
5. Bank Accounts. Make sure your ex-spouse is no longer an authorized signer on your bank accounts, mutual funds or money market funds.
6. Government Records. If you move because of the divorce, remember to change government and other re ... More details
Utah divorce - How much divorce cost.
There is an $80 filing fee for the divorce papers, plus a $2 filing fee for a Vital Statistics form. If there are children involved in the divorce, there is an additional divorce education class that both divorced parents are required to complete. Th ... More details
Utah divorce - Needs for getting a divorce?
Utah is a "No fault" divorce state. "No fault" divorce describes any divorce where the spouse suing for divorce does not have to prove that the other spouse did something wrong.
Utah's no-fault grounds for divorce are ... More details